88 Days to Ironman Chattanooga: Staying Positive

 

megalol_3725560881476

The past few weeks have been great!  Summer break has been exactly what I have needed so far.  I’ve had time to focus on me and my training without stress and exhaustion from work.  I can sip coffee all morning long and then head out the door for training at my leisure.  And, compared to last summer, the heat and humidity haven’t been a complete killer yet.  Yet.

This will be the 5th Ironman I’ve trained for, but I feel like this time everything is so different.  And, not just because I started training for IMCHOO with very little fitness and a 20 lb. weight gain.  That’s definitely made this journey different from my past IMs, but I’ve really tried to change the way I look at things.  Like, really change my thought process, and so far, that’s been my biggest motivator and accomplishment in training.  The power of positive thinking truly is amazing.  I’m working on counting my blessings more than focusing on the speed and fitness that I lost during 2016.  I’m also focusing on staying in the present and not worrying about the yards, miles, or intervals ahead, which is completely different from what I’ve been known to do.  And, you know what?  I’m actually enjoying much of the training I’m putting in so far.  Maybe not the swimming so much, but I’m working on that. 🙂  Don’t get me wrong, now.  Not every training session ends with a rainbow and a unicorn, but when things don’t go my way, I’m trying really hard to not let it become my focus (heaven knows I have in the past).  There’s something positive to be said after each swim, bike, and run, even if it’s just that I stuck with it or that I’m still alive.  I’m really trying to be thankful for every minute I get to spend in this sport.  No matter what the clock reads when I cross the finish line in Chattanooga (God willing), I want to walk away and be able to say that I did indeed find joy and happiness in this journey.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “88 Days to Ironman Chattanooga: Staying Positive

  1. It always amazes me how a change in thinking can change the whole workout/day! I can’t believe you’re only 88 days away from race day! That makes me scared to even count how far away I am since I know it is less than 60…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

