When Life Hits

quote-art_15169-3

January has been one heck of a ride, and I don’t mean that in a good way either.  Truth is, January hasn’t shaped up the way I had hoped, especially since I was so eager for the new year.  In fact, many of my 2016 goals have been on hold since my last blog post.  Sometimes, life throws new obstacles your way and you’re just not quite sure how to handle them.

At the start of the year, my husband’s Papaw, a family member very near and dear to both me and my husband began taking a sharp turn for the worse, health-wise. Our lives quickly became consumed with doing all we could to make sure he was properly cared for, all the while, holding on to hope that he would recover.  Every ounce of energy I had was poured into my job as a teacher and then coming home and making sure family matters were handled.  My husband and I both focused every moment on taking care of others, and in the process, we forgot the importance of taking care of ourselves.  We went from fit and healthy to eating foods to soothe our emotions and not working out.  We went from being energetic to feeling run-down and like we couldn’t get enough sleep.  The stress continued to grow and finally our immune systems caved.  From stomach issues to colds and everything in between, we’ve been fighting it all over the past 24 days.  My husband and I have had to make tough decisions we never imagined we’d have to, both for our family member and in our personal lives.

Unfortunately, just yesterday we lost our beloved Papaw.  In every situation, even as difficult as this one, I try to spend time reflecting on what I learned, and what I can take away from the situation and use as a tool for personal growth in the future.  Between yesterday and today, I’ve spent much time in reflection.  I see how easy it was to neglect myself and revert back to the eating habits of my unhealthy days.  I know that in order to give our best, we have to be at our best.  That means taking care of ourselves even in situations when we feel like others are the priority.  I lost focus of this over the past 24+ days, and because of that, I now know that I have a little extra work to do to continue making progress on my journey to becoming the best version of me.

I’m not big on excuses.  If you follow me on social media you know one of my favorite hashtags is: #noexcuses.  However, just this once, I’m going to give myself an “excuse pass” and not beat myself up over this.  Sometimes life knocks you down and you have to find a way to get back up, no matter the situation.  It’s a lesson that’s easier said than than done, this I now know from experience.

If you’re someone who has set big goals for yourself in 2016, but life seems to be getting in the way…don’t give up.  Get up and fight for YOU!  When life hits, hit back.  Trying is better than doing nothing and accepting things the way they are.  This is something I will strive to put into practice more often as I move forward into the year.

“Fall down seven times, stand up eight.”

 

 

6 thoughts on “When Life Hits

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss Andrea!! I hope you find peace in the memories. Your courage and bravery will carry you forward into a stronger and better you. Here’s to sticking to the fight when you’re hardest hit. It’s when things seem worst that you mustn’t quit. xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

