Hello, 2016!

As the final weeks of 2015 approached, I took a long hard look at what I had learned over the year.  I spent much time reflecting on the good, the bad, and the ugly.  And, that’s not always easy.  Sure, reflecting on the good times, the great accomplishments, all of that is cake.  It’s the hard lessons that were learned throughout the year that can sometimes be difficult to swallow, and 2015 just happened to be a year of lesson-learning for me.  But, that’s okay.  I’m stronger and I learned so much, albeit the hard way, but I like to think that I’m a better version of me because of it!

So here we are.  The start of a new year.  After looking back over 2015, I decided that this was the year that I’d actually write down my goals, dreams, ambitions, resolutions….whatever you want to call them.  This way I’d have a visual that I can refer to often (hopefully!), reflect, and make adjustments as needed to ensure I follow through and succeed, or at least work towards success.  My goals are divided into three categories: personal, spiritual, and fitness.

After writing down my goals, my training partner (aka the hubs) and I reminisced and shared our hopes and dreams for 2016.  Together, we decided that we needed to put together something more visual than just words on paper.  It needed to be more than a list.  Something we’d see on a regular basis that would force us to face these goals head on.  And, it was at that point that our 2016 “vision” board was born.

img_20160101_163705.jpg

We decided to put together a visual for our workout room (AKA the pain cave) that would serve as a daily reminder of what we hope to achieve throughout the year, the work we are setting out to do, and the purpose of it all.  Oh, and we decided that it wouldn’t hurt to have an area for key workout reminders, too.  With our goals in mind, we looked through magazines for key words or quotes that we connected with, cut them out, and placed them on our vision board.  Here’s a closer look at my side of the board, some of what I’m looking forward to in 2016, and what it means to me:

20160101_180042.jpg

SERVE YOUR BODY RIGHT – Although, I’ve cleaned up my diet considerably from what it used to be, there’s room for improvement.  I want to work on viewing food as fuel and not as a crutch for times when I feel stressed.

LIVE TO KNOW WHAT YOU’RE MADE OF – Take advantage of every opportunity and moment.  Be active.  Be present.  Be in the now.  Don’t be afraid of exploring outside your comfort zone.

LOVE YOURSELF. LOVE LIFE.  ALL YOU NEED IS LOVE. –  No explanation needed.

PUSH YOUR LIMITS – Embrace the pain that allows you to grow and become stronger.

PRAY – Cling to your faith, not just in times of despair, but in times of joy.

THE COMEBACK – After a year of injuries, it’s time to take care of me.  Listen to your body and don’t neglect the recovery process.

YOU DESERVE THE BEST – Continue to improve self-esteem and self-image. You are awesome!

I RUN 4 SADIE – A daily reminder that I have physical capabilities that some do not.  Don’t take it for granted.  #noexcuses

SOAS RACING – I’m honored and humbled to be able to return as an ambassador for SOAS Racing.  I’m inspired daily by the amazing women who are a part of this team.  Be inspired and inspire others.  #liveinspired

Yes, I know. I have quite a full plate with my goals for 2016, but I’m excited about my journey.  Maybe a little nervous.  Overall, though, I am pumped and ready to get after it so with that, I gladly greet the new year.  Hello, 2016!  Let’s do this!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Hello, 2016!

  1. This. Is. AWESOME!! I love the idea and may have to steal it!! I need more focus for 2016 and I think this is the ticket!! When it stares me in the face, I am forced to get after it. I too have to work on serving my body right (viewing food as fuel and not a crutch for stress), live to know what you’re made of, love yourself, love life, all you need is love, push my limits, and you deserve the best. We are all works in progress and, for me, 2016 is all about trying to be better today than I was yesterday in all aspects of my life! Cheers to 2016 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! We are all works in progress! I’m excited about seeing this board every day. Unlike my written goals, which I typically put away in a drawer somewhere and only refer to occasionally, I think this is going to help me stay accountable, but at the same time remind me that there is a real purpose, too. Can’t wait to see how this year unfolds for us!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the idea of a huge vision board and weekly workout schedule. Can I ask, how did you make this? What is the material and where did you get it?

    What Ironman are you training for this year?

    One of my goals this year to pray more – in times of joy and times of need.

    Like

    • I am loving it, Kristen! The board is a large chalk board that I purchased from Hobby Lobby. The size we got is usually pretty pricey but we managed to get it on a 50 or 60% off sale and got it for around $30. Instead of buying chalk we went with neon chalk markers that we also purchased at HL. They clean up easy if you need to erase anything, and they’re easy to use for writing and decorating. The hubs and I decided on the layout of the board, measured, and then drew the lines in to make the individual sections. From there, we just cut out words and quotes from old LAVA and triathlon magazines that went along with our goals. We used double-sided tape (small squares) to attach our cut-outs.

      As of now, I have Ironman Wisconsin on my calendar. Super excited to follow you on your journey to CdA!

      Like

Leave a Reply

