13 Days to Ironman Canada

Wow!  It’s hard to believe that I’m only thirteen days out from standing on the beach of Alta Lake in Whistler, BC to take on my third Ironman.  It has been quite a journey since I began training back in January.  My preparation and journey for this Ironman has certainly been different from my first two, and, I suppose that’s what will make this one extra special if I make it to the start line and then, hopefully, the finish line.

Over the past two weeks, I’ve had some really good training days, some okay days, and a few “what the hell was I thinking” days.  At this point, the hay is in the barn, as they say.  My barn just happens to have some extra space that didn’t get filled this time around, and I’m at peace with that.  Given my circumstances, I know I’ve done everything I possibly could have done to be ready. I still have some lingering numbness in my lower leg and foot and sometimes my sciatic nerve still gets angry, but God willing, I will be on that start line in Canada.  I’ve pretty much had a conversation with my leg and told it that it can either work with me or against me, but either way, we’re doing this.

So, here we are.  Taper time.  A time where my body and mental game get a bit of a break to prepare for the big day, and I definitely need it!  Needless to say, I was pretty stoked to get that last “long” run behind me yesterday.

wpid-img_20150712_135534.jpg

Now, it’s on to the next stressful stage.  Packing.  Shipping the bike.  Oh, and flying (I get queasy just typing that).  Unlike packing for a vacation, there are essentials that I will need on race day that I just cannot mistakenly leave behind. Thus, I go in to a master list-making mode.  And yes, my race gear gets a suitcase all to itself.

wpid-img_20150713_163412.jpg

All in all, I’m really looking forward to this trip.  And for once, I have some pretty awesome back up plans in the event my race doesn’t go well and I have to throw in the towel.  I’ve told my training partner that if he doesn’t see me racing to look for me among the party people at the golf course or hanging with the hippies on the “naturist” dock along the run course.  Ha!  🙂

3 thoughts on “13 Days to Ironman Canada

  1. Happy tapering!! I completely understand the whole packing lists…I had multiple for this trication as well!! Enjoy the taper and don’t let the packing stress you out too much 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

