28 Days to Ironman Canada

The days are flying by and much faster than I’d like.  The countdown is on – 28 days to Ironman Canada.  After spending a month on the sidelines with an injury,  I’ve spent the last three weeks busting it out and trying to find some fitness (along with nursing some leftover numbness in my leg and foot).  It’s been three weeks of ups and downs, celebrations and pity parties.  I’ve got about 2 weeks left to miraculously find some serious fitness and endurance before I begin a 2 week taper to let my body heal from all I’ve put it through.  After this week of training, it seems as though a miracle is what I’m going to need.

I’m not one to make excuses and I’m certainly not a quitter.  Some people are okay with signing up for races and just not doing the work or not showing up.  Unfortunately, I’m not one of them. But, after today’s “long” run of only 11 miles, things suddenly got real.  As I cooled off under a tree while waiting for my training partner to finish his run, I had a long, serious talk with myself.  I gave myself permission to pull out of Canada.  Permission to pull out without any guilt.  After all, I’ve been putting in the work.  I just happen to be behind schedule because of my injury.  And for the first time, I didn’t get bent out of shape over the fact that not racing Canada could be a reality; I was at peace with it.  I also know that I have Ironman Louisville in October that I can easily turn my focus towards and continue training for if Canada doesn’t work out.   For now, though, I’m still racing Canada.  Whatever that means.  Who knows?  Maybe things will really come together in the next two weeks….there’s power in positive thinking!

2fe9bd0f00319c667fc8f07eb857e45d

One thought on “28 Days to Ironman Canada

Leave a Reply

