Keeping the Bench Warm

It’s been a while since I’ve updated my blog, so I figure now is as good a time as ever.  If you read my previous blog, you know that I was having back issues and I put myself on the bench to deal with the problem so I could get myself better and back to training to be ready for Ironman 70.3 Raleigh (which is this Sunday).  Well, what started out as just lower back pain turned in to a numb foot and leg…and the back pain.  Here it is, May 26th, and only 5 days until what was supposed to be my first triathlon of the season as well as my tune-up race for Ironman Canada and I am still on the bench.  Just keeping it warm.Bench_Warmers

I’ve been back and forth with my family physician as well as a new chiropractor.  The chiropractic treatments are definitely helping with the back pain but the numbness is still very present.  This Thursday I am lined up to see a doctor who specializes in ART (active release technique), which I’ve heard wonderful things about.  And, apparently this doc is no slouch.  His background includes working with olympic and professional athletes.  Wonder if he works miracles (??) because that’s what I’m going to need to get back on track to race Canada.

So just what have I been up to since I haven’t been training?  Well, if you’ve ever had severe back issues or injuries, you’re well aware that the pain can be quite debilitating.  In between dealing with the pain, I’ve certainly had my fair share of pity parties and meltdowns.

11219361_10206634509326646_6368781672974893298_n

 

I won’t lie.  This one has hit me hard.  After all, I went from training 15+ hours a week to zero.  Zilch. Nada.  One can only surf the web, catch up on tv shows, and lie around so much before insanity hits.  I just need a good endorphin fix….and being able to feel my leg and foot would be nice, too!

I’ll spare everyone the details of the pity parties because, let’s be honest, it’s just pitiful.  It’s not like I’ve been given a death sentence.  I’m not losing my leg (that I know of).  This is just one of those obstacles that I’ll have to overcome to be stronger in the end.  I’m learning to accept that injury is part of my journey this year, and my journey might not look anything like what I had envisioned.  Key word…learning.

078ded6baddd3920786589b6a79ed11f

 

There is something about race week that I just love.  The excitement.  The nerves.  This race week is a little different, though.  Is it really race week for me?  Am I crazy to think that there is even a slight chance that I might get to race?  Am I even crazier for even considering whether to race this weekend??  Perhaps.  Check back later this week to hear the final verdict…..

Leave a Reply

