Pushing Through

Today wraps up week 11 of IM training for me and this week was tough.  Really tough.  Mentally and physically.  I’m not sure if I can put my finger on any one particular reason why – it just was.  Maybe it was the time change, not enough sleep, not enough calories, work.  I’ve got a list a mile long.  Luckily, I know that my list is filled with excuses that I will have to get over if I’m going to reach my race and fitness goals this year.  Ironman competitor Jacob Sharff put it best when he said, “Everyone’s got excuses.  I have excuses. But, be stronger than your excuses and get it done.”  Mr. Sharff, that’s my plan!

I’m looking ahead to week 12 with excitement.  1. It’s a fresh start.  Whatever happened this past week is just that – the past.  2. It’s race week!!  Nothing motivates me more than a race.  This coming weekend I’ll be hitting the streets of Atlanta, Georgia for the Publix Georgia Marathon.  And, while I know my results won’t be what I would like due to lower run mileage as I tried to balance IM training and marathon training, I know it’s a chance to see what I’m made of.  It’s a chance for me to learn something new about myself.  Another opportunity to be thankful for the health and fitness I have, no matter what time I cross the finish line (or don’t).

What’s your motivation for the week?

One thought on “Pushing Through

  1. Hey Andrea!

    Loved the Jacob Sharff quote! I also find that hard deadlines like a race, esp if that deadline involves others, inspire me to continuous action.

    Since “your attitude, not your aptitude, determines your altitude,” I foresee a great result in your upcoming race! You’ve got positivity in droves.

    My motivation for the week is inspiring one other person to take the “Hour of Power” challenge. It’s a powerful morning ritual that I’ve adapted from Tony Robbins – check it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CoF85Z_WTa8

    Keep rockin!

    Ben

    Btw, how do you monetize your blog?

    P.S. You were born to win!

    Like

Leave a Reply

