Monday Motivation: Attitude and Perspective

Let’s be real here.  All of this cold weather that mother nature is dishing out this winter is killing my motivation for workouts.  I’m getting my training in, but not without very lengthy arguments with myself.  For example, yesterday was a long run day in my training plan for IM Canada.  I’ve actually come to enjoy long run Sundays.  Well, that is, when the weather is cooperative.  So, my choices yesterday:  bundle up and get outside or hit the ‘dread’mill for what was certainly going to be a mentally draining afternoon.  For the record, I chose to hit a treadmill in my gym’s Cardio Cinema and it was actually quite enjoyable.  So what’s the point of all this?  Just think about the amount of energy and time I wasted trying to make up my mind and the negativity that I allowed to be part of my day.  “If you run outside, you’ll be cold and miserable.  If you run inside, you’ll feel like a hamster and lose your mind.”  

WinterWorkout

The one thing I was missing was that all of my options included the word “RUN”.  Something that I CAN do. If I want, when I want.  Something perhaps many of us, especially athletes who are training for a particular goal, may take for granted at times.  I’m thankful for my health and ability to run, albeit at a turtle’s pace, but sometimes I lose sight of the big picture.  I CAN.  Running and exercising can be so invigorating and it has certainly changed my life for the better, but there are those who might not get to experience what I can due to physical limitations.  So, again…why was I complaining??  I forgot to be thankful – I had lost sight of the big picture.  When you see the big picture, you realize that there’s always something to be thankful for.  Attitude and perspective is everything.

So, for those of you who, like myself, have been forgetting to count your blessings and be thankful for what you CAN do, no matter the weather, here’s some Monday motivation about a remarkable woman who’s not letting circumstances get in the way of living her life.  Everyone, meet Pat Brandon.  Able to walk one day, she woke up one morning to find her world turned upside down.  Watch her story — her attitude and outlook on life is truly an inspiration!

Woman Wakes up Paralyzed; Decides to Fight Back

http://www.wltx.com/media/cinematic/video/23381391/woman-wakes-up-paralyzed-decides-to-fight-back/

Leave a Reply

